Apple changes Full Disk Access permission in macOS
Appleβs macOS has a Full Disk Access permission, designed to allow backup applications full access to, well, the disk, so they can perform their job properly. Apple posted a notice on its website that itβs going to further restrict this permission, because some applications were abusing this permission to gain access to usersβ messages, emails, and so on, which it obviously isnβt intended for.
What kind of applications, you may ask?
Going forward, we will introduce additional controls to ensure that users who genuinely wish to grant an app this extraordinary level of access can only do so with very explicit user action. Addressing this is critical. As AI agents become increasingly capable and autonomous, the risks associated with this level of access will grow substantially. We are committed to ensuring users clearly understand these risks before granting such access, so they can make informed decisions about their own data and privacy.
β« Announcement from Apple
This was prompted by a story a few weeks ago, where Facebookβs Muse βAIβ tool was apparently reading peopleβs private messages and other data, and even sent messages on usersβ behalf, without informing its users. Itβs incredibly naive to think Facebook software in 2026 would not do creepy things, so Iβm honestly not at all surprised. It makes sense in Appleβs worldview to further restrict permissions in response, but Iβm sure more experienced macOS users are not going to like this.
